Loading Events

« All Events

Biometrics and privacy workshop

19 October

Online, and on demand

DATE

19 October 2021

TIME

6:00 Washington DC | 11:00 London | 12:00 Brussels | 18:00 Singapore | 21:00 Sydney

DURATION

140 minutes including 20 minutes break

LOCATION

Webex online platform

ABOUT THE EVENT

During Biometrics Month which encompasses four days of the Biometrics Congress (6, 13, 20 & 26 October), this satellite workshop will dive deeper into the topic of biometrics and privacy.

This very interactive course will help you develop a better understanding of potential privacy risks biometrics may pose and how to use the guidelines as a tool to work through important considerations such as consent, proportionality and purpose to name a few.

The workshop will take participants through a range of scenarios discussing how they potentially impact on privacy and how this could be managed. This is a must-attend event for anyone involved in the planning or implementation of a biometric system providing thought-provoking debate and guidance. It will address:

  • The role and composition of the Biometrics Institute Privacy Expert Group (PEG)
  • The aim of the Privacy Guidelines
  • What is the thinking behind them?
  • An explanation about each guideline principle
  • Why new guidelines have been added
  • Why a Privacy Impact Assessment is important

WORKSHOP PRESENTER

Terry Aulich is head of the Privacy Experts Group (PEG) of the Biometrics Institute. Terry Aulich is also the chairman of Aulich & Co, strategic advisors, pollsters and market researchers since 1993.

He was a state minister and federal senator for over sixteen years where he was chair of a number of influential committees, one of which was the Australia Card committee which recommended the successful implementation of Australia’s Privacy Act, the 100-point bank identification system, the tax file number system and other anti-fraud measures.

As a head of the Biometrics Institute’s Privacy and Policy Expert Group he provides strategic advice to the CEO and Board. He is also chair of the Privacy Committee of the Australian Market and Social Research Organisation.

REGISTRATION FEES

Members – GBP 250 (+ VAT@20%)
Non-Members – GBP 450 (+ VAT@20%)

Delegates based in the UK or the EU will be charged VAT at the standard 20% rate, unless the EU-based organisation is registered for VAT in their own country and can supply the respective registration number. Delegates based in other geographic locations will not be charged VAT.

To register for this workshop or for the Congress or any of the other satellite events taking place please go to the main Congress page and register there.

Registration includes attendance at the event and the on-demand recording.

 

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER NOTIFICATION

The Biometrics Institute provides training and course material as a tool to help you conduct due diligence.  While the Institute has used reasonable care to ensure the accuracy of the material and course, due to the content and variable inputs during and after the process of implementing biometrics, the Institute cannot be held accountable for outcomes or compliance.  The material and course have been prepared for informational purposes only and are not intended to provide legal or compliance advice.   You should consult your legal advisor should you require advice on the legal or compliance aspects of the material or course.